The Commissioners of Public Works of the Town of Summerville is a five person board comprised of three members elected specifically to serve as commissioners by the registered voters of the Town and two ex-officio members from Town Council. The "CPW" was formed by Town Council on October 2, 1919. The Commissioners are charged with the full control and management of the water and wastewater systems under Section 5-31 of the Code of Laws of South Carolina. Each Commissioner elected to the board serves a six year term without compensation with elections held every two years to fill the staggered terms.